Baby on the Run


44MbTAJfwwRGlYk-jl2zCnMFvz_CYiyibLEjvMxLXhw
Little G-Man after a run

Last week marked a pretty major milestone for our family – finally, after waiting for the approval of G-Man’s doctor, we were able to go for a family run together. My brother and I had taken the little man out for a few shorter runs earlier in the summer when he was still in the infant carrier, but the jogging stroller was so bulky with that attached that our “runs” involved a lot of walking and breaks.

I’d read that 6 months was sort of the age at which the little one’s head and neck would be strong enough for the run, but we asked at his last appointment a couple of weeks ago, and his doctor gave us the all-clear. Then the weather cooled off. And then Casey started running too. It was the perfect storm of running readiness!

So last week, I loaded my little man into the big boy seat of his jogging stroller and set off for the first time. Gone was the guilt I feel on every other daytime run. Let me back up here a bit – I’ve been facing this running struggle every since returning to training after he was born. I am either:

  • Exhausted from going to bed late after working all day and night and then waking up at 4:30 to get my run in;
  • Terrified of all of the horror stories I’ve heard lately (and my own few weird encounters) of running after dark when G-man is in bed;
  • Filled with guilt of leaving him and Casey home during some of the few precious waking hours we have together.

And so that’s why our ability to make this a mommy-son experience is so important. I can run after work, in the safety of the daylight, with my little guy right there with me. And now with the whole family in on the running game, it’s turned into a fun experience we can all enjoy together after work and on weekends. (Casey is working with Drogo to get him in better shape to join us – they got in 2 miles a few nights ago, where in the past, I could only get Drogo to go a mile or so before he refused to run another step. Dogs!).

But Gunnar absolutely loves running with his momma! Last week, we got in a 3 miler and two 4 milers. He slept the last mile or two during a couple of those runs, but for the most part, he sits back, looks around, and has a great time.

After our first run, I noticed he got a little bored, so I used these awesome pacifier clips with the crazy-strong metal clips to tether a toy to his stroller, and laughed several times to look down and see him playing with and eating his monkey toy. The pacifier clips held up beautifully, and have become a permanent installation in the jogging stroller to keep him busy and occupied when the passing scenery isn’t enough to keep my little boy happy.

He also melts my heart when I talked to him and he cranes his head back to look up at me. That boy and those blue eyes! He’s a ladykiller for sure.

I’m sure I’ll be sharing LOTS more stories of our running adventures together. Run on, baby boy. Run on.

Leave a comment